Posted by: Nathan Schulzke | May 18, 2010

Napolitano on Arizona Law

On RealClearPolitics.

John McCain:  Finally, if I might ask, have you had a chance to review the new law that was passed by the state of Arizona?

Janet Napolitano:  Uh, I have not reviewed it in detail.  I certainly know of it, Senator.

McCain:  So you’re not prepared to make a judgment on it.

Napolitano:  Senator, that is not a law, uh, let me just say this.  As you know and are well aware, that is not the kind of law I would have signed.

McCain:  And for what reason?

Napolitano:  Uh, well, because I believe that it’s a bad law enforcement law.  I believe it mandates and requires local law enforcement, and puts them in a position many do not want to be placed in.  When I was dealing with laws of that ilk, most of the law enforcement agencies in Arizona at that time were opposed to such legislation.

So, let me get this straight.  She hasn’t read a 20 page bill, but she thinks she is prepared to make a judgment on it?  This makes the second Obama Administration official to demonize the law without reading it.

Here’s Holder last week.

Leave a Reply

Categories

